102 East 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267
(click for map)

320/589-1634 (phone)

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday
10:00am - 8:00pm
Friday - Saturday
10:00am - 5:00pm
Closed Sunday
Ask a Librarian

Visit the
City of Morris Webpage

Minnesota became a state in 1858, the City of Morris was founded in 1871, and the first Morris Public Library was formed in 1886. A Carnegie library was built in 1904, which is now the Stevens County History Museum. The current library building was built in 1969 and was remodeled in 1999.

Morris Public Library is a city library located in Stevens County, MN. It is part of the Viking Library System which serves 6 counties in western Minnesota. Morris is a college community of some 5000 people and the library serves 7,000+ in the surrounding area.

Viking Library System (VLS) was formed in 1975 as a regional library system, headquartered in Fergus Falls, to enhance and coordinate the efforts of 11 member libraries in 6 counties (Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, and Traverse) of western Minnesota. Although each library is independently run, VLS provides a shared catalog and delivery service to member libraries (Browns Valley, Douglas County, Elbow Lake, Fergus Falls, Glenwood, Hancock, Morris, New York Mills, Pelican Rapids, Perham, and Wheaton).